Who Pain Management Ladder Ppt


Who Pain Management Ladder Ppt

What is step 2 of the WHO pain relief ladder?

Step 2: Weak Opioids and Adjuvant Agents The WHO pain ladder introduces opioids in Steps 2 and 3, recommending first weak opioids with or without adjuvant agents (Step 2).

What is pain level 2 to 3?

Using the Pain Scale If you want your pain to be taken seriously, It is important that you take the pain scale seriously. Because pain is subjective, it is difficult to explain what you’re feeling to another person—even your own doctor. To effectively use the pain scale, familiarize yourself with the levels before your procedure, identifying what key levels are indicative to your pain level.

  1. Following a surgery or procedure, typically we tell patients to continue to take medications that allow them to maintain a level of “5 or below.” 0 – Pain Free Mild Pain – Nagging, annoying, but doesn’t really interfere with daily living activities.1 – Pain is very mild, barely noticeable.
  2. Most of the time you don’t think about it.2 – Minor pain.

Annoying and may have occasional stronger twinges.3 – Pain is noticeable and distracting, however, you can get used to it and adapt. Moderate Pain – Interferes significantly with daily living activities.4 – Moderate pain. If you are deeply involved in an activity, it can be ignored for a period of time, but is still distracting.5 – Moderately strong pain.

You might be interested:  How To Remove Tooth Without Pain

It can’t be ignored for more than a few minutes, but with effort you still can manage to work or participate in some social activities.6 – Moderately strong pain that interferes with normal daily activities. Difficulty concentrating. Severe Pain – Disabling; unable to perform daily living activities.7 – Severe pain that dominates your senses and significantly limits your ability to perform normal daily activities or maintain social relationships.

Interferes with sleep.8 – Intense pain. Physical activity is severely limited. Conversing requires great effort.9 – Excruciating pain. Unable to converse. Crying out and/or moaning uncontrollably.10 – Unspeakable pain. Bedridden and possibly delirious. Very few people will ever experience this level of pain.

What is a pain scale of 2?

1 = Pain is very mild, barely noticeable. Most of the time you don’t think about it.2 = Minor pain. It’s annoying.

What are the 7 dimensions of pain?

Assessing the seven dimensions of pain Despite advances in pain-management education, many nurses aren’t familiar with the multidimensional aspects of pain—highlighted more than a decade ago by the National Institutes of Health and more recently by the American Society for Pain Management Nursing.

What is the step by step pain pathway?

Pain Processes – Figure 7-1 illustrates the major components of the brain systems involved in processing pain-related information. There are four major processes: transduction, transmission, modulation, and perception. Transduction refers to the processes by which tissue-damaging stimuli activate nerve endings.

  • Transmission refers to the relay functions by which the message is carried from the site of tissue injury to the brain regions underlying perception.
  • Modulation is a recently discovered neural process that acts specifically to reduce activity in the transmission system.
  • Perception is the subjective awareness produced by sensory signals; it involves the integration of many sensory messages into a coherent and meaningful whole.
You might be interested:  How To Sleep With Gallbladder Pain

Perception is a complex function of several processes, including attention, expectation, and interpretation.

What are the 6 aspects of pain?

Patients should be asked to describe their pain in terms of the following characteristics: location, radiation, mode of onset, character, temporal pattern, exacerbating and relieving factors, and intensity.